ZT Five - шаблон joomla Окна


The Institute originates from a Steering Committee of twelve persons from academia and industry formed in 1982 for the purpose of founding the South African Institute of Computer Scientists with the following objects:

  • to further the study and application of computer science;
  • to disseminate information and knowledge related to computer science;
  • to promote and accredit education of computer scientists;
  • to promote and uphold the interests of the Institute, its members, and computer science;
  • to do things which may be desirable for the attainment of these objects.

The members of the Steering Committee were:

Stef W Postma, 
Judy M Bishop, 
Pierre Visser, 
Gideon de V De Kock, 
Niek F du Plooy, 
I Douglas G Laing, 
Ken J MacGregor, 
Phil P Roets, 
Trevor Turton, 
Gerrit Wiechers, 
Trevor Winer, 
Roelf J van den Heever and 
Derrick Kourie.

During 1992 a process of restructuring commenced for the purpose of fulfilling the mission. Consensus was reached during 1994 to broaden the membership to university graduates and technikon diplomates of three year standing in the fields of Computer Science, Software Engineering and Information Systems.

Historical Sketch of SACJ: 1989 to 2010 by Derrick G Kourie

The South African Computer Journal serves as the scientific voice of the Institute. A record of its early years was published by the then editor, Derrick Kourie, as

Derrick G. Kourie (2010) The South African Computer Journal: 1989 to 2010, Transactions of the Royal Society of South Africa, 65:2, 107-11

The South African Computer Journal (SACJ), as the successor of the Quæstiones Informaticæ journal founded by Derek Henderson, is part of his heritage to South Africa. This brief historical sketch of SACJ outlines the role of various organisations and people that have been part of the journalʼs story, giving some insight into its financing and functioning, and pointing out highlights in its past editions.

The full article is available at www.tandfonline.com .

SAICSIT Conferences

A primary strategic activity of the Institute has been the annual conference, which started in 1981 (predating the formation of the Institute). According to proceedings, the 4th conference was in 1987 and the 7th in 1992. From 1995, we have annual records. Subject to confirmation, 2017 will be the 32nd Conference.

The conference has grown in stature over the years and is now indexed in the ACM Digital Library. Recent conferences are:

Year Place Conference Chair/Host Programme Chairs Website 
2017 Thaba 'Nchu
Muthoni Masinde Pieter Blignaut/T. Stott Link
2016 Johannesburg Marijke Coetzee Marijke Coetzee Link
2015 Stellenbosch Richard Barnett Bruce Watson Link
2014 Centurion Alta van der Merwe, Carina de Villiers Alta vd Merwe, Carina de Villiers Link
2013 East London John McNeill, Karen Bradshaw Jane Nash, George Wells Link
2012 Irene Jan Kroeze, Ruth de Villiers Helene Gelderblom, Hugo Lotriet Link
2011 Cape Town Irwin Brown Kosheek Sewchurran, Hussein Suleman Link
2010 Bela-Bela Paula Kotze Alta van der Merwe, Aurona Gerber Link
2009 Vaal River

Barry Dwolatsky/Scott Hazelhurst

Jason Cohen, Scott Hazelhurst  
2008 Wilderness Jean Greyling Reinhardt A Botha, Lynette Barnard
2007 Fish River
Jean Greling Lynette Barnard, Reinhardt A Botha
2006 Somerset West Judith Bishop Judith Bishop, Trish Alexander
2005 White River Judith Bishop Judith Bishop  
2004 Stellenbosch Gary Marsden Gary Marsden, Paula Kotze
2003 Fourways Jan Eloff Jan Eloff Link
2002 Port Elizabeth Paula Kotze, Theda Thomas Lucas Venter, John Barrow Link
2001 Pretoria Paula Kotze Karen Renaud, Andries Barnard Link
2000 Cape Town Andy Bytheway Philip Machanick, Andy Bytheway
1999 Hartbeespoort Dam Philip Machanick
1998 Gordon's Bay G. Hattingh, P. Licker Lucas Vanter, Dan Petkov
1997 Vanderbijlpark JM Hattingh, Lucas Venter Andre van der Waal
1996 Durban Vevek Ram
1995 Pretoria  Lerine Steenkamp Lerine Steenkamp
1992 Johannesburg  Judy Bishop Judy Bishop
1991 Caledon      
1987 Pretoria  Pieter Kritzinger Pieter Kritzinger